How to implement cascading between three fields?

Discussions about Forms Designer for SharePoint 2013 / 2016 and Office 365.
Locked
ramanjjilunaidu
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017

06 Sep 2017

Hi Team,
I would like to implement cascading between three fields. Please help me to achieve this.
The three fields are as below:
1. Family
2. Category
3. Sub category
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Nikita Kurguzov
Posts: 889
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017

06 Sep 2017

You'll need to use Cross-site Lookup to implement Cascading Lookup fields. You can read the instruction here - https://spform.com/cross-site-lookup/ca ... office-365

Just follow the instruction first for Category. Once it works, do the same for sub category.
Cheers

ramanjjilunaidu
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017

07 Sep 2017

Hi Nikita,
that article was on look-up fields, but here is one choice and two single line of text. please suggest some information.

User avatar
Nikita Kurguzov
Posts: 889
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017

07 Sep 2017

Hello!
What do you mean by cascading then? Usually, it refers to the fact that the items you can select from the Lookup are only the ones that contain same item as the previous Lookup.

So what's the connection between family, category and subcategory fields? Do you want them to appear only when the previous one was filled? Or do you want some sort of filtering applied to them? Please, explain what you mean by cascading.

Thank you.
Cheers

ramanjjilunaidu
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017

11 Sep 2017

Hi Nikita,
You name it Cascading or filter. the task is as follows:
1. Family - Choice field
2. Category - Single line of text
3. SubCategory - Single line of text
When we select the value from Family, the remaining columns/fields will become dropdown columns/fields and then populate the values based on the value we have selected from Family.

Note: i have achieved this in Infopath by creating dataconnections.
Here i am trying to convert single line of text to dropdown columns, here is my code, please refer and also it is not recognizing my code as it says "spjs is not defined".

spjs.lookup.init({
"fieldToConvertToDropdown":["Category","Sub_x002d_Category"],
"listName":"Category", // list name also Category only
"listBaseUrl":"/sites/devcorpstrprocurementcoe/Sourcing",
"optTextFieldInternalName":"Category",
"sortFieldName":"Category",
"filterObj":{
"on":true,
"folder":"", // Leave empty to search in all folders
"CAML":null, // If used, the rest of the filterObj settings are disregarded
"fin":"Family",
"isLookup":false,
"operator":"Neq",
"filterVal":"1"
},
"dropDownDefaultvalue":"...",
"addYouOwnValue":{
"on":true,
"linkText":"Write your own value"
},
"addToExternalList":{
"on":false,
"customFunction":null, // Function name as a string. If a function name is supplied, this will be used in stead of the default function. The function will be passed the argument object as a parameter.
"linkText":"Add new item",
"saveNewItemText":"Save new item"
},
"debug":false
});

User avatar
Nikita Kurguzov
Posts: 889
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017

12 Sep 2017

This seems like a complex issue. Please, email us your full requirements to support@spform.com
We'll evaluate if it's possible to do and how much time it will take to implement for us, the evaluation is free of change, but you will need to purchase support minutes from our store if you want us to write the required code for you - https://spform.com/buy/support-maintenance
Cheers

Locked
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests