Forms designer forms provision

Discussions about Forms Designer for SharePoint 2013 / 2016 and Office 365.
User avatar
Андрей Тарутин
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014

26 Aug 2014

Below I asked about cross site lookup columns provision programmatically. What about forms provision? I know I can import and export forms. Can I do it programmatically?

User avatar
Dmitry Kozlov
Site Admin
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012

26 Aug 2014

Sure, you can use the following web service:

/_vti_bin/formsdesigner/fdservice.svc

Method called PublishForms:

PublishForms(Guid listId, String contentTypeId, Guid groupId, Forms forms, string layout, out ServiceFault fault);
If you don't use groups functionality, please, pass empty guid as groupId argument. Layout string is content of exported XFDS-file.

User avatar
Андрей Тарутин
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014

26 Aug 2014

It's great, thank you!

User avatar
Christian Heinrich
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015

02 Feb 2015

Hello,

i tried calling the webservice, but unfortunatelly, Visual Studio cannot access the service for making a reference for it, neither I could directly call the service from browser, I only get a HTTP 400 ("Bad request") error when doing so!

I hope you can help me with accessing the webservice or get rid of the error.

User avatar
Dmitry Kozlov
Site Admin
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012

02 Feb 2015

What version of SharePoint do you use: SP2013 or SP2010?

User avatar
Christian Heinrich
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015

02 Feb 2015

Its SharePoint 2010 Server Standard, and I use an extended trial license...

User avatar
Christian Heinrich
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015

02 Feb 2015

Oh sorry, I missed its the forum for SP2013 Forms Designer, big sorry! I hope you can help me anyway.

And should I re-post in FD 2010 forum?

User avatar
Dmitry Kozlov
Site Admin
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012

02 Feb 2015

OK, thanks. Please, try the following URL:

/_vti_bin/formsdesigner/fdservice.svc/mex

User avatar
Christian Heinrich
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015

02 Feb 2015

Now it works! Totally forgot about that trick with WCF services ;) Thank you very much!

User avatar
Андрей Тарутин
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014

01 Apr 2015

Dmitry, what about automating export? Is there any method?

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests