Redirect to edit form from other page

Discussions about Forms Designer for SharePoint 2013 / 2016 and Office 365.
Katy
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015
Location: Canada

22 Apr 2016

HI, I have a form that redirects user from new to edit for additional editing (some workflows attached). I was using this instruction for creating that: http://spform.com/forms-designer- ... sharepoint It is working if i am adding items from the New Item link in the list.

But i need to place this form on another site page, so i was trying to do that using this article: http://spform.com/office-365/publ ... rrent-site and it doesn't work. It gives me "Page not found" error

User avatar
rostislav
Moderator
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015

25 Apr 2016

Sorry, it's a bug in the software. For now this is the workaround:

Code: Select all

//need to set the pageListId on page load
_spPageContextInfo.pageListId = '{' + fd._listId() + '}';

fd.onsubmit(function() {
  //also the path to the edit form must be absolute, not relative
  var uri = fd.setUrlParam(decodeURIComponent(window.location.href), 'FDRedirectWithID', '/Lists/list/fd_Item_Edit.aspx?ID=');
  fd.sourceFormParam(uri);
  return true;
});

Katy
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015
Location: Canada

25 Apr 2016

Thank you for the reply.

I tried the work around, the ID is picked up, but after that i am getting the following screen:

Image

User avatar
rostislav
Moderator
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015

26 Apr 2016

Check my post again, you seemed to have missed out the part where I change the path.

Katy
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015
Location: Canada

26 Apr 2016

I tried with both links: relative and absolute, and the weird thing is that it always referring to ID=4 and I don’t have item with ID =4 in the list, it was removed early during testing, so apparently the ID is not picked up correctly, I was wrong before saying that it is fine.

User avatar
Dmitry Kozlov
Site Admin
Posts: 1524
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012

27 Apr 2016

Katy,

What version of Forms Designer do you use? You can find the version in the lower-right corner of the designer window.

User avatar
rostislav
Moderator
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015

27 Apr 2016

Katy, we've fixed the bug in the current Forms Designer. Please, if you're on SP On-premises, download and install the latest version; if you're on SP Online, clear your browser's cache and it should work as expected. Of course, you will still need to include an absolute path to setUrlParam.

Katy
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015
Location: Canada

27 Apr 2016

Thank you Rostislav!

I will test it as soon as my change to update the version would be approved by managment and processed ... That takes some time in the company :-)

Katy
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015
Location: Canada

27 Apr 2016

Actually... we have 3.0.6 now and i don't see any later versions after that in your version history.

User avatar
rostislav
Moderator
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015

27 Apr 2016

I don't think we've incremented the version number for this.

Locked
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests